GBBO August Recipe: Fresh Berry Scones

I haven’t made anything from my calendar in ages! There are two reasons for this, 1) time (or lack of), and 2) no one to feed (at home my dad would hoover most of what I made up!). And actually I didn’t feel particularly inspired to bake any of the other recipes as most of them were pastry-based and I’m not that keen on pastry. This recipe for Fresh Berry Scones, however, caught my attention, and, as I had some very ripe strawberries I decided to give it a go. I have had an annoying time trying to figure out the oven at our flat and how hot it cooks which means a lot of the things I have attempted to bake haven’t worked as well as I would have liked. But these guys were different and for once my scones rose! I swapped the blueberries and raspberries for strawberries and I would recommend using 75ml buttermilk rather than 100ml as the mixture was too sticky to handle and I had to add a lot more flour to make it pliable.

freshberryscones2freshberrysconesFresh Berry Scones

Ingredients

  • 250g self-raising flour
  • good pinch of salt
  • 60g caster sugar
  • 50g unsalted butter, chilled and diced
  • 1 egg
  • 75ml buttermilk
  • 50g fresh blueberries
  • 40g fresh raspberries

Baking sheet lined with greaseproof paper

Heat the oven to 200C. Sift the flour, salt and caster sugar into a bowl. Add the pieces of butter and rub them into the flour using your fingertips until you can no longer see any lumps of butter, and the mixture looks like fine crumbs.

Put the egg and buttermilk in a small bowl and beat with a fork to just mix. Pour into the crumbs and mix in with a round-bladed knife to make a rough-looking dough. Add the berries and use your hands to bring the mixture together to make a ball of slightly soft dough.

Lightly dust the worktop and your hands with flour. Turn out the dough onto the surface and gently pat out to about 3cm thick. Using a 6cm round cutter stamp out rounds. Re-roll the excess dough and stamp out more rounds.

Set the scones slightly apart on the baking sheet and bake for 12-14 minutes (at this point you could brush the tops with an egg and milk mixture or just buttermilk to make the tops golden) until golden brown. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

