1960s New Delhi Cross Stitch

newdelhiflowernewdelhiflower2As I mentioned in a previous post I found an amazing book of cross stitch patterns dating from the 1960s and originating from New Delhi. I was so intrigued by this book and wondered how, and if, the patterns differed from the English, European and American patterns I was used to. Many of them were similar to things I’d seen before but the patterns which intrigued me the most were the flowers and I’m not all too sure why. I do like a good flower pattern and the bold use of colour and simple designs really appealed to me. I had bought a plain brown wooden frame ages ago from a charity shop and wanted something for it to frame so thought one of these New Delhi flower patterns would be perfect.

Leave a Reply

