Discovering: Chia Seeds

I have seen so many bloggers rave about chia seeds that I had to see what all the fuss was about for myself. In an amazing “world” food shop in Liverpool called Matta’s I found a 250g bag of chia seeds for about £3 which is a lot cheaper than in Sainsbury’s or Holland & Barrett. Chia seeds are packed full of nutritional benefits such as more omega-3 fatty acids than salmon, a wealth of antioxidants and minerals, a complete source of protein and more fibre than flax seed. In order to test them out I made chocolate chia cookies and chia seed pudding. I have to say that I enjoyed both recipes and would recommend them if you are looking for alternative healthy snacks and breakfast ideas.

Chia Seed Pudding

chiaseedpudding3

chiaseepudding2

I found the recipe for this via Vivianna Does Make Up. I had this for breakfast topped with blueberries – so good and so filling, one batch of this lasted me all week. I would compare chia seed pudding to rice pudding except the consistency is a lot less lumpy and a lot more creamy as the chia seeds soak up all the milk, yoghurt and extras you add in.

Ingredients

Makes 4 servings

  • 1 cup unsweetened oat milk
  • 1 cup plain Greek yoghurt
  • 2 tbsp agave syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 Cup Chia seeds
  • blueberries to serve 

Mix the almond milk, yoghurt, agave nectar and vanilla extract together. Gently stir in the chia seeds and leave to stand for 30 minutes. Mix again before covering with cling film and refrigerating overnight. Serve the following morning with a few strawberries on top.

Chocolate Chia Cookies

chocolatechiacookies3

chocolatechiacookies2

chocolatechiacookies

This is the recipe which I saw so many bloggers hark as being the best healthy cookie recipe they had tried and it is from Deliciously Ella. I can affirm the cookies are great; I always find myself needing a pick-me-up mid-afternoon and these are perfect for that as they satisfy sweet cravings but don’t make you feel guilty for having a biscuit. The recipe says to use raw cacoa powder but I haven’t been able to find any where that sells it cheaply so I used good quality cocoa powder.

Ingredients

Makes 10 cookies

  • 1 cup of almonds
  • 1 cup of hazelnuts
  • 1 cup of buckwheat flour
  • 1/3 of a cup of agave syrup
  • 1/4 of a cup of medjool dates
  • 1/4 of a cup of water
  • 3 heaped tablespoons of cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons of chia seeds
  • 2 tablespoons of coconut oil

Place the nuts into a food processor and blend for a minute or two until a flour forms, then add all of the remaining ingredients and blend again until a sticky cookie dough forms.

Scoop about a tablespoon into your hands, roll it into a ball and then flatten it using a spatula onto the baking tray so that they are nice and thin. Keep doing this until all the cookies are on the tray.

Bake for about twenty minutes at 180C, until the cookies are firm and starting to slightly brown.

 

Are there any chia seed recipes you would recommend?

 

Leave a Reply

