All the Fun of the (Knitting and Stitching) Fair

I had been looking forward to the 2013 Knitting and Stitching Fair in Harrogate since last year. For the 2012 show I bought whatever I fancied and didn’t go with anything in mind. This time around, however, I made a list of things I needed for specific projects so I wouldn’t end up with lots of things I may never use. I bought most of the things on my list (and ended up with a few extras too). I went with my aunt and uncle as my aunty is really into crafts herself and is very creative. We had such a great time looking at all the stalls and the seemingly endless number of crafts we could try out. I cam away with a lot of inspiration for projects to try out in the future such as embroidered tote bags and beaded Christmas baubles. Some of the projects I have in mind to make with my Knitting and Stitching Fair haul will have to go on the back-burner, however, as I have a lot of Christmas things still to make.

knf2All my Knitting Stitching Fair goodies!

Here is a quick run down of everything I bought and the projects I have in mind for them.

Glass Chilli Pepper Beads

These were one of the first things my aunt and I came across at the show. At first we were going to come back to them but we soon decided to snap them up in case they were gone when we came back. I also bought some clasps and some grey-silver beads to make a necklace from them. I couldn’t resist as they are so unique probably because they are handmade, they were also a bargain at £5 for the whole string! Although not on my list I am glad I picked them up as we saw some beads at 75p a pop so it was a good deal.

knf3

knf5

Flower and Pom-Pom Trim

Although not on my list I am glad I bought these two very different pieces of trim. I plan on using the flowery trim to edge a plain black t-shirt. The pom-pom trim I may use for a cushion. These two trims were bought from an amazing stall where I could have spent a fortune; there was so much choice and so many different designs.

knf6

Brown Thread

I bought the brown thread for one of the projects I chose before I went to the show; an owl cushion from Storyland Cross Stitch. By mistake I bought two skeins of the same colour!

knf7

Off-White Egyptian Cotton, Cross Stitch Material and Plain White Cards

At the top of my list of things to buy was material to cross stitch on and I found a HUGE piece of it for only £4.50. Also on my list was some plain material for cushions so I picked up some off-white Egyptian cotton for £4, another great bargain! A bit of a boring but necessary purchase was some plain white cards.

knf8

Wool!

This definitely was not on my list as I cannot knit but when I saw these two balls of wool for only £2 and £1 a piece I thought why not as they would come in handy for something. I actually have two projects in mind one of which I will share in another post. For the pink wool I am going to make a scarf/neck piece using 10mm needles which the woman on the stall assured me would be an easy project to complete.

knf11

Tea Cosy Supplies

A project I have been keen to embark on since my friend gave me Stitch! by Cath Kidston is a tea cosy so I jotted down the required bits and pieces on my ‘to-buy’ list. They were: red wool for a pom-pom, red trim, embroidery thread in various colours (I bought purple, yellow, green, blue and pink for only 50p a skein!), heavy wadding, cross stitch material and plain cotton. I managed to find everything at the show and can’t wait to start making a tea cosy!

knf10

Leave a Reply

