Waste Canvas: Aztec Drawstring Bag

I have been obsessed with the idea of using waste canvas ever since I read about it in the first issue of Cross Stitcher I ever bought last July and I finally bought some on the weekend. I ended up buying some because my mum got a free make-up bag when she bought something from Boots and gave it to me. Its completely plain and was just screaming out for something to be sewn onto the front of it so I thought what better way than to cross stitch on it by using waste canvas. I chose pattern from issue 271 of Cross Stitcher which they designed for a coaster. It is a geometric-Aztec inspired pattern which I thought would look great in the middle of the make-up bag.

In order to use waste canvas you pin it onto the material you want to cross stitch. I cut my piece to size and then pinned it onto the front of the bag. It wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be to stitch onto the bag mainly because of the waste canvas.

wastcanvas

aztecbag

 

3 thoughts on “Waste Canvas: Aztec Drawstring Bag

  1. Very pretty! I just bought some waste canvas too, though I haven’t decided what to do with it yet. I just bought it because you hardly ever see it at craft stores, so I thought I’d strike while the iron is hot.

      1. I found mine at Michael’s, shock the world. they don’t stock much cross stitch stuff anymore, but they do stock waste canvas? Makes no sense, but I decided to strike while the iron is hot. I’m looking forward to seeing the finished product.

Leave a Reply

