Happy Halloween!

Today I used one pumpkin in 3 different ways; 2 food-themed and one craft. I really wanted to carve a pumpkin this year but it seemed wasteful to buy a pumpkin to carve and not use the flesh or the seeds. I have always been intrigued by the idea of pumpkin pie and when browsing the Martha Stewart website I came across several American recipes for pumpkin pie. The only problem with the American recipes was obtaining two of the ingredients; canned pumpkin and graham crackers. I did, however, find a recipe on the BBC food website by Antony Worrall Thompson which was pretty similar to the American version but with real pumpkin. To me and my friends it tasted delicious (my parents weren’t the keenest on it) but there are a couple of things I would do differently in the future. First I would use a smaller pumpkin (not one meant for carving) and I would also roast the veg along with some butternut or onion squash to give it a deeper flavour as the only flavours which came out were the spices (ginger, cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg).

2013-10-28 21.30.18-1

2013-10-28 21.30.30

My second food-themed creation for Halloween is toasted pumpkin seeds. I used a variation of this recipe from about.com; I followed the basic recipe and added my own toppings of ground cumin and chilli powder.

2013-10-31 15.33.08

My craft used the pumpkin itself. The Martha Stewart website has lots of ideas of how to carve your pumpkin more interestingly than the average pumpkin-carver. The idea which particularly caught my attention was this skull. So I attempted to recreate it. I was really worried that it would be too fiddly and that I would ruin it as I can be very impatient. However, a couple of friends helped me out and it wasn’t that hard to do!

2013-10-31 17.08.02

Did you make anything this Halloween?

One thought on “Happy Halloween!

  1. Halloween must have been fun. Pumpkins are just fun to look at anyway, there was a short clip on TV from Chester Zoo showing lots of different animals having fun with pumpkins. The giant tortoise was quite happily munching away at it, the baby rhino was kicking it about and the tropical fish were swimming in and out of one with cut out holes in it.

Leave a Reply

