Altered Skirt

My boyfriend and I went to Southport last week to look round the charity shops there and to see if we could pick up any bargains. I always find really nice skirts but more often than not they are longer than the style I normally wear so I don’t buy them. In order to remedy this I looked into how to alter skirts. When I found this skirt I decided to buy it and just take the plunge and alter it and it doesn’t look too bad!

skirt3

The original skirt.

skirt4

Bits and pieces I used: fabric scissors, tailor’s chalk, a tape measure and iron-on hemming.

skirt5

Measuring how much I wanted to cut off.

skirt6

After cutting I then pinned the iron-on hemming onto the bottom, folding the material under the width of the hemming. I then ironed to attach the hemming.

skirt7

The finished skirt!

 

Leave a Reply

