Sticky Lemon Cake

I haven’t had much time for crafts recently with so much university work to do but I have had time for baking. The next few posts will feature some of the delicious goods I have baked recently. The first was a Sticky Lemon Cake I baked for my dad’s birthday. Originally I was going to bake a Flourless Chocolate Cake but it went horribly wrong so I made this instead. The recipe is from a National Trust greetings card. It was a really easy recipe to follow and the cake was moist and really tasty.

Sticky Lemon Cake

  • 100g butter, softened
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 2 medium free range eggs
  • 100g self-raising flour, sifted
  • grated rind and juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 1/2 tbsp icing sugar, sifted

For the icing

  • 50-75g icing sugar, sifted
  • juice and finely grated rind of 1/2 a lemon

Preheat the oven to 160C. Grease and line an 18cm round tin.

Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, whisking hard after the addition of each one. Fold in the flour and rind, mix well and turn into the prepared tin. Bake for 45 minutes until a skewer comes out clean (I found I didn’t need the whole 45 minutes, I think I cooked mine for about 20-25 minutes). Remove from the oven and make several holes in the top of the cake with a skewer. Mix together the icing sugar and lemon juice and pour over the cake. Leave in the tin until absolutely cold. Meanwhile make the icing. Mix together the icing sugar and the lemon rind and juice. When the cake is cold, turn out and ice with the prepared mixture.

(The picture I took didn’t do justice to how good it was so I’m not including it in this post.)

 

 

One thought on “Sticky Lemon Cake

  1. I just bought a few lemons yesterday so I will try your recipe. We are going to Baildon tomorrow for Richie’s birthday, hooray!!!! I’m sure we will have a good day with him.

Leave a Reply

