Supersize Stitches and DIY Fashionista

For my birthday I asked for a couple of crafty-type books which have caught my eye recently. The first was Jacqui Pearce’s Supersize Stitches which contains some brilliant “XXL” designs. A lot of the designs are for pieces which will have a practical purpose which I really like as there is nothing worse than finishing a cross-stitch project and, in my case, not being able to afford to have it framed. Having alternatives such as cushions and wall-hangings is a very good and appealing idea. The book also claims that the designs are “sensationally speedy” which is also appealing as I like to finish projects quickly as sometimes I lose interest.

Some of the designs which have caught my eye so far are:

  • The Granny Square Cushion (this design has also been featured in CrossStitcher and it caught my eye then so I think this definitely going on my to-do list)
  • Groovy Circles Cushion
  • Bright Bloom Tile Cushion
  • Russian Doll Cushion
  • Groovy Pouffe
  • Lipstick Make-up Purse
  • Orange Segment Purse
  • Peony Bloom Picture
  • Big Love Picture

The other book I received for my birthday is Geneva Vanderzeil’s DIY FashionistaI have been following A Pair and A Spare for a while now and when it was revealed that there was going to be a book full of the projects featured on the blog I knew I was going to have to get it. I’m really interested in altering my own clothes and the instructions in this book are brilliant so simple and easy to follow (just like on the blog). I pretty much want to try out everything so I’m not going to list everything but safe to say there are enough projects to keep me busy.

Another craft book I am contemplating purchasing is Anna Maria’s Needleworks NotebookI came across a new blog the other day, Little Lovelies, which featured one of the designs from the book and fell in love instantly (with the cross-stitch design and the blog). Maybe I will wait until next pay day…

Leave a Reply

